Cleanse is complete

I finished 3 weeks of the Clean program.  I wasn’t as good about having two liquid meals and one solid per day, but otherwise I followed the program fairly well.  I juiced much more this time than the last time.  And I saw some great results that I didn’t see before.  When I did a cleanse seven months ago, the most noticeable benefit was that I no longer needed sleep aids at night.  Even after the cleanse was over, I still hardly ever use them.

This time, I saw significant changes to my skin.  By significant, I mean changes I’ve never seen from any topical product.  I think my skin is firmer with more even tone, especially around my eyes.  The book says people on the program become less “puffy,” and I agree–my skin is taut and not puffy.  Not just on my face, but also somewhat around my midsection (which is something I greatly desire after having three children).  My facial skin is no longer breaking out either.  Ever since our move to a more humid climate, I’ve been struggling with pimples and blackheads.  It’s really incredible how all of that disappeared without a single change to my topical regimin.  I have had absolutely no breakouts since about two weeks into the cleanse, something that has eluded me for the past four months.  I also find myself really not needing caffeine in the morning and having balanced energy levels throughout the day–I wouldn’t say my energy is high, but it feels consistent.

I officially completed the program a few days ago, but given the impressive results, I am continuing with a modified version.  I still have a smoothie for breakfast, but then a solid meal for lunch and dinner.  I am keeping dairy and wheat out of my diet, and am trying to eat more raw foods.  I am also giving my body 12 hours of fasting each night, using the steam room regularly at the gym to give my body another route of detoxification (through sweat!), taking fiber and magnesium oxide supplements to aid with regular and substantial elimination, and trying to avoid too much snacking.  I’ve found my results to be so personally motivating that I’m starting to read other books about detox diets, like The Beauty Detox Foods, to learn more.

Oh yeah, and the cough is gone!  🙂

Leave a comment